NRL Australia Online Sports Betting

The NRL offers bettors in Australia the best local professional rugby matches. The 16 competing teams consist of 15 teams from the Australian states and 1 team from New Zealand.

The NRL has existed in various forms since the beginning of the century and it has a long sporting tradition in Australia. It offers some of the best betting action in Australia with thousands of fans and thousands of keen bettors who want to make some big wins on these exciting matches.

Online sports betting lets you place a variety of bets on all the premiership games and trophies that these competitions have to offers.

The Powerhouse Teams

The NRL consists of 16 teams who compete in a single group system. The teams represent Australia and New Zealand’s finest rugby clubs.

Some of the top teams include the Brisbane Broncos, Sydney Roosters and the Melbourne Storm. There are many more competing teams that are available for online sports wagers.

The odds that you will get at a NRL betting site often is often more rewarding than a brick and mortar betting shop since the betting sites have lower overhead costs and they also want to be very competitive in the sports betting market.

Making online sports betting wagers makes a whole lot more sense when you look at it as not just convenient but also value for money.

The National Rugby Season Structure

The NRL season in Australia starts with the Pre-season matches between February and March. There are also some cups on offer during these games. These are the Foundation Cup and the Charity Shield.

There are also the very popular All Stars matches that award the Arthur Beetson Trophy to the winning team.

The NRL Premiership Season follows in March and stretches for 24 weeks until the end of December. This is where the main action is in the NRL.  16 teams from Australia and New Zealand compete to take part in the Grand Final.

Online sports betting opens up all these matches to sports betting NZ fans and allows you to make online bets on your favourite teams.

National Rugby Rivalries

There are many exciting rivalries in the NRL. Bettors in Australia love these events as it adds extra incentives to place high stakes wagers. These rivalries result in some of the biggest crowds in the season.

Many rivalries stretch back to the 1950’s and include the South Sydney Rabbitohs v Sydney Roosters,  the St. George Illawarra Dragons v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs and the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles v Newcastle Knights.

National Rugby Trophies And Awards

The biggest award in the NRL is the Provan- Summons trophy. It is the trophy awarded to the top team of the Premiership. The JJ Giltinan Shield goes to the top ranked team in the NRL ladder.

The Clive Churchill medal goes to the best player of the grand final. The player of the year receives the Dally M awards.

Bettors in Australia can use proposition or futures wagers offered on sports betting sites to place real money wagers on which team or individual will receive these awards.